Progressive Muslim Youth .. an Oxymoron?

The one and only free public forum for Bohras. The focus of this forum is the reform movement, the Dawoodi Bohra faith and, of course, the corrupt priesthood. But the discussion is in no way restricted to the Bohras alone.
barwani

Progressive Muslim Youth .. an Oxymoron?

Unread post by barwani » Wed Nov 20, 2002 12:22 am

I’ve been wondering for the past two or three years.. where are the progressives within the Muslim youth? I’m still a college student so I still have a chance to see Muslim youth from all around the world and from every different sect. And for the most part, they are as “fundamentalist”, nay .. rather close-minded as the Mullas in Talibanized Afghanistan. I remember, even three years back, I would hear from Muslim peers of mine that I “shouldn’t be calling myself a Muslim” or that “don’t you know that you’re going to burn in hell fire for your beliefs” .. And what were my beliefs? Well, I’ve always thought that everyone has a right to their religion and that if someone doesn’t want to “believe”, it doesn’t make them a “bad or evil” person. I thought that relying on the Mulla’s and their interpretation of some thousand year old “here-says” (Specifically hadith) telling you how to take a dump was outlandish for people living in a secular world who were at the same time driving around in BMW’s and Lexus’ while people back home in their own countries were starving….

After 9/11 . . .