OPEN LETTER TO PROGRESSIVE DAWOODI BOHRAS

The one and only free public forum for Bohras. The focus of this forum is the reform movement, the Dawoodi Bohra faith and, of course, the corrupt priesthood. But the discussion is in no way restricted to the Bohras alone.
Mustansir

OPEN LETTER TO PROGRESSIVE DAWOODI BOHRAS

Unread post by Mustansir » Thu Apr 23, 2009 1:46 pm

Dear All,

I’ve been visiting this website for a few months now and finally registered because I wanted to share something with the members here & raise a few questions which I think any true thinking progressive person should consider. It was great to see that many here can truly see the Dawoodi Bohra Jamat under ‘Aqa Moula’ for what it truly is - A totalitarian, patriarchal, tightly controlled community where absolutely no descent or criticism is tolerated and as long as you keep giving a good chunk of your earnings silently with complete obedience, you will be fine. There was a movement necessary to expose what really goes on under the ‘holy’ guidance of Aqa Moula and the so called royal family and a good amount of that has been achieved here on this website. Kudos to you all who have contributed to the reform movement. However, it was disappointing to see that although people here did start in the right direction, many got rid of one authoritarian dictator but are still clinging on to an ultimate supreme dictator and trying to find the “true” identity of Dawoodi Bohra…and in doing this, diverging midway from a rational and non-superstitious way of life.